City Government, Community

Hayward municipal election results

November 10, 2020

A blank ballot on a wooden table

Hayward Planning Commissioner Angela Andrews and incumbent City Councilmembers Elisa Márquez, Mark Salinas and Francisco Zermeño were the winners in the Nov. 3 election for four seats on the seven-member Hayward City Council.

In joining re-elected incumbent Councilmembers Márquez, Salinas and Zermeño on the Hayward City Council, Commissioner Andrews will replace out-going Councilmember Al Mendall, who did not seek re-election to a third City Council term.

Hayward voters also passed two City ballot measures. Measure NN, which received 73 percent approval, gives the City Council the authority to increase Hayward’s 8.5 percent hotel tax to up to 14 percent. Hotel tax revenue flows to the City General Fund, which pays for primary municipal services.

Measure OO, which received 67 percent approval, amends the City Charter to open service on appointed City advisory commissions to people who are not registered or not eligible to vote, including non-citizen immigrants.

Measure OO also amends the Charter to eliminate gender-based designations and titles—and use neutral, gender-free designations and titles in their place.