City Government, Community, Police Department

Members chosen for new Community Advisory Panel to Chief of Police

June 11, 2019

A black and white close-up of a Hayward Police Officer's badge

Please note: For updated information about the Community Advisory Panel, including a current roster of members visit:

The City of Hayward announced last week the selection of 12 people to serve on the City’s new Community Advisory Panel to the Chief of Police.

The purpose of the new panel is to improve trust and strengthen understanding between the Hayward Police Department and community members by creating a structure and venue for open and honest dialogue on police-community relations.

The idea for the Panel is a product of the work of the City’s special Community Task Force, which was formed in response to community concerns about the results of the 2016 presidential election and potential changes in immigration and civil rights policy.

Those selected for the new Community Advisory Panel to the Chief of Police were chosen by Mayor Barbara Halliday, City Manager Kelly McAdoo and Police Chief Mark Koller from a pool of candidates recommended by the City Council and reflective of the City’s diverse makeup.

The newly selected Community Advisory Panel members are:

  • Toni Adams
  • Stephen Carter
  • Tiffany Chaplin
  • Freddye Davis
  • George Escutia
  • Danish Farooq
  • Brenda Gomez
  • Andrew Gutierrez
  • Georgette Munoz
  • Zachariah Oquenda
  • Sara Prada
  • Shawan Worsley