News Release, Police Department

Members named to new Community Advisory Panel to Chief of Police

June 3, 2019

HAYWARD, Calif., June 3, 2019—The City of Hayward announced today the selection of 12 people to serve on the City’s new Community Advisory Panel to the Chief of Police.

The purpose of the panel is to improve trust and strengthen understanding between the Hayward Police Department and community members by creating a structure and venue for open and honest dialogue on police-community relations.

Those selected were chosen by the Mayor, City Manager and Chief of Police from a pool of candidates recommended by the City Council and reflective of the diverse perspectives, life experiences, and racial and cultural makeup of Hayward residents.  The panel members are:

  • Toni Adams
  • Stephen Carter
  • Tiffany Chaplin
  • Freddye Davis
  • George Escutia
  • Danish Farooq
  • Brenda Gomez
  • Andrew Gutierrez
  • Georgette Munoz
  • Zachariah Oquenda
  • Sara Prada
  • Shawan Worsley


Download the full press release.